INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT 252 820 EAST MINNESOTA STREET CANNON FALLS, MN 55009 <u>MINUTES</u> March 9, 2020

Cannon Falls Area Schools, partnering with families and community, will provide a safe, nurturing, challenging, and inspiring environment to educate ALL individuals to be lifelong learners and responsible, productive citizens.

The School Board of Independent School District 252 met in a regular session, Monday March 9, 2020 in the Boardroom of the High School. Present: Bob Brintnall, Brenda Owens, Katie Lochner, Anna Olson, Bill Thompson, Larry Robinson. Others present: Superintendent Sampson, Lori Hanson, Tim Hodges, Jake Winchell, Josh Davisson, Sharon Noble, Rob Stachowski, Chuck Hoffman, Mitch Hoffman, Dylan Mackey, Mike Schnell, Sarah Ness, Dick Mensing and Nora Felton.

- 1. The meeting was called to order by Chairman, Bob Brintnall at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Moved by Bill Thompson, seconded by Katie Lochner and unanimously approved the agenda.

Dylan Mackey, Sarah Ness and Mike Schnell from SSC were here to present the Career Navigator position. Dylan will be helping Cannon Falls, Pine Island, Zumbrota Mazeppa, and Goodhue County Education District as our career navigator to introduce students to a variety of careers by connecting our school with local businesses using the Future Forward portal. Dylan is the connection between our school district and business/industry. FutureForward.org is the landing page with a host of information and a list of features and resources. Everyone is encouraged to log in and find out more!

Jake Winchell presented an update on the registration numbers in Athletics and Activities. The Cannon Falls BOMBER Activities and Athletics remain strong with participants as well as high average GPAs. Congratulations to the Cannon Falls student Athletes and Activity participants! The data statistics pages are available in the District Office.

Emma Conway gave a presentation on all of the events that have been happening in school. Spring sports started today and everyone is BUSY! Jeff Sampson announced that Emma Conway is the runner-up for the national journalist scholarship award! The Board wished Emma the best.

- 3. Moved by Bill Thompson, seconded by Katie Lochner and unanimously approved the retirement request from Cindy DeRosier effective June 4, 2020. The board Thanked Cindy for her 21 years of service to the staff, students and entire Cannon Falls community and wished her well in her retirement.
- 4. Moved by Bill Thompson, seconded by Brenda Owens to approve the Unrequested Leave of Absence for Adam Nelson. Voting YES: Larry Robinson, Bill Thompson, Bob Brintnall, Brenda Owens, Katie Lochner. Voting NO: Anna Olson.
- 5. Moved by Bill Thompson, seconded by Katie Lochner to approve the Unrequested Leave of Absence for Steven Strauss. Voting YES: Bill Thompson, Bob Brintnall, Brenda Owens, Katie Lochner. Voting NO: Larry Robinson, Anna Olson.
- Moved by Bill Thompson, seconded by Brenda Owens and unanimously approved the Non-Renewal of a probationary teacher, Brad Mahnke effective June 4, 2020.
 Voting YES: Larry Robinson, Bill Thompson, Bob Brintnall, Brenda Owens, Katie Lochner, Anna Olson. Voting NO: None.
- 7. Moved by Katie Lochner, seconded by Larry Robinson and unanimously approved to post and hire a 1.0 FTE MSHS Special Education Teacher for 2020-21.
- 8. Moved by Bill Thompson, seconded by Brenda Owens and unanimously approved the retirement request from Barb Biron effective June 4, 2020. The board Thanked Barb for her 20 years of service to the staff, students and entire Cannon Falls community and wished her well in her retirement.

- 9. Moved by Brenda Owens, seconded by Katie Lochner and unanimously approved the retirement request from Eileen McNurllin effective October 10, 2020. The board Thanked Eileen for her 34 years of service to the staff, students and entire Cannon Falls community and wished her well in her retirement.
- 10. Moved by Brenda Owens, seconded by Katie Lochner and unanimously approved a 3-year Leave of Absence request in accordance with Article X, Leaves of Absence, Section 12, of the Teachers Master Agreement for Carissa Ulrich Hjellming.
- 11 Jeff Sampson presented the 2019-20 WBWF and Strategic Priorities Document. Moved by Bill Thompson, seconded by Anna Olson and unanimously approved to send these 2 documents to an Ad Hoc Committee composed of the Administration and Anna Olson.
- 12. Motioned by Anna Olson, seconded by Larry Robinson and unanimously approved to adjourn at 6:59 pm.

I, the undersigned, being the duly qualified and acting Clerk of Independent School District 252, State of Minnesota, hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of the minutes of the meeting of the School Board of said District held on the date therein indicated.

WITNESS MY HAND officially as such Clerk this 30th day of March 2020.

Katie Lochner